Louisburgh Co. Mayo



Student Council 2017 - 2018



A new student council is elected each year, consisting of 12 new members, 2 from every year. The representatives are chosen by their classmates via a private vote. Every student in the school is entitled to vote.  From there, all representatives are elected and a student council committee is formed to act as a binding connection  between the student body and the teachers/ principal/ board of management. They are chosen by the student council members by means of a democratic vote.

Student Council Members 2017/2018
A1 Charlie Morrison
A2 Dara Heneghan
A3 Eva Staunton
B1 Des Herterich
B2 Bronagh McDonnell
B3 Finn Fitzpatrick
C1 Emma Finnegan
C2 Odhrán McCarney
TY1 Marcus Karl
TY2 Sarah Lyons
E1 Amy Hastings
E2 Jack Rooney
F1 Kayleigh Geraghty
F2 Damien Murphy
F3 Eimear McDonnell


The student council is equally representative of all students attending Sancta Maria College. It provides a developing platform from which students can be heard. The student council here at Sancta Maria is a consultative body and a valuable resource within our school community.
The Council meets once a week to discuss and deal with matters that may have arisen. We strive to make school life easier for all students by taking their opinions into consideration when discussing school matters, and by contributing to the improvement of school facilities and conditions. We represent student views and show an active communication channel between students, teachers and management.
For members, it allows them to experience a learning opportunity. All representatives can be identified easily throughout the school as each member wears a student council badge respectively.

Back to HomePage


Sancta Maria College, Louisburgh
Tel: 098 66342 Fax: 098 66570 Email: